Annual Awards to Genealogical Community

MoSGA recognizes individuals, groups and organizations that have put forth that extra effort to support genealogical research, activities, and publications in the Show-Me State. We are asking local genealogical and historical societies and libraries in Missouri to assist us in identifying those who should be candidates for special recognition. Neither submitters nor nominees need be members of MoSGA.    Click here for the Nomination Form.
2016 Recipients:
Award recipents attending the Annual Luncheon, August 6th, are pictured, L to R: AWARD OF MERIT recipients, Betty Chillington; Mary Helen Catlett Allen; Black Archives Museum committee;  Kelly Draper (Cert. of Appreciation);  Melba Rector; DIRECTOR’S AWARD recipient Estella Morrison; PRESIDENT’S AWARD:  Jenna Mills.
  • Selected by the association president, Tim Dollens, the recipient for 2016 is MoSGA board member, Jenna Mills. President Dollens credited Jenna with new and innovative marketing strategies including the creation of our booth at the National Genealogical Society Annual Conference in St. Charles, MO.  Jenna is chairman of the Awards Committee and has diligently served in that position.  Her enthusiasm motivates all of us! Congratulations Jenna.
  • Estella Morrison, Excelsior Springs Genealogy Society and Museum & Archives - Estella has led dozens of aspiring family researchers onto the path of righteous genealogy practices in her decades as a professional genealogist. She was a founding member of the Excelsior Springs Society in 1972, the founding president of the Clay County Archives, and has served multiple terms as an officer of the Excelsior Springs Museum & Archives. In addition, she is a founding member of several local lineage societies and her heart beats strongest for the Osage Chapter of the Missouri State Society Daughters of the American colonists. She now leads the online genealogical research efforts at the Excelsior Museum. We wish Estella a belated Happy Birthday as she turned 85 in July.
  • Black Archives Museum Committee, St Joseph Museums, Inc - In 2016, the Black Archives Museum Committee completed renovations of the Black Archives Exhibits, which highlights contributions made by African Americans in St. Joseph and the surrounding area.
  • Mary Helen Catlett Allen, Genealogical Society of Boone County & Central Missouri - Mary Helen has served as librarian, working tirelessly to make ours one of the best local society libraries. She co-authored A Marylander and Texan: H.G. Catlett’s Quest for Fortune in Early Texas. With her husband’s assistance, she was able to get the Mountain Grove Old City Hall and Jail listed on the National Historic Register.
  • Betty Chillington, Osage County Historical Society – A loyal volunteer for the OCHS, Betty helped research and complete an inventory book quick reference guide. She served as Chair on “Our Lady Help of Christians Parish” history, including over 350 family histories and genealogies.
  • Neoma (Alexander) Foreman, Cedar & Vernon County, MO Genealogy Society – Neoma recently published a three-volume set of books entitled The Walker Herald 1892-1931 Extant Issues Transcribed. A writer for over thirty years, she shares and preserves local history and stories.
  • Sharon Hackworth, Iron County Genealogy Society – Since ICGS’s inception 16 years ago, Sharon has been its only newsletter editor. She has been a driving force behind the creation of most of the society’s publications, helping with compilation, typing, indexing, proofreading, and publication.
  • Melba Allison Rector, Ozarks Genealogy Society – Melba has been an active member of the Ozarks Genealogy Society for 44 years. She was also a representative of MoSGA for 31 years. Melba was a big part of the OGS Special Publications team which transcribed the tombstones of Greene County, Missouri and published a 10-volume set of books.
  • Ted & Iva Roller, Barry County Genealogical & Historical Society – Charter members of BCG&HS, holding several offices, written articles and served as editors of the society’s quarterly publication.
  • Roberta Schinke, Osage County Historical Society – Roberta has served in several offices, and as Museum Curator, has documented & maintained inventory of over 2,000 artifacts and supervised museum maintenance and exhibits.
  • Kelly Draper, St. Louis County Library - Kelly has worked for the History & Genealogy Department of the St. Louis County Library since its inception in 1998. She is an expert in both US and European genealogical research. Kelly is able to use this expertise to guide researchers. She has spent countless hours creating indexes to sources available at SLCL and manages The Westliche Post, a German language newspaper published from 1857-1938, obituary indexing project.
  • Michael O’Laughlin, Irish Roots Café Mike has authored 12 hardbound books; 34 Irish County research guides and hundreds of articles. He is the author of Missouri Irish, and a 21 video set of the History of the Kansas City Irish. Mike has a personal library of 3,000 history and genealogy books which is consulted daily. His interest in Irish research began in the 80’s as a result of his own family history research.